Resetting OS X Yosemite Setup Assistant

I’ve been searching for this all afternoon! The old way of resetting the OS X setup assistant via single-user mode and directory services dscl no longer works in Yosemite (and possibly Mountain Lion and Mavericks; I haven’t tried it since Lion). I discovered a new way by running across this engadget post. I modified step 5 to include the users folder. Here’s a quick summary:

  1. Boot into single-user mode by holding down Command-S on the keyboard during startup
  2. At the command-line prompt, type mount -uw /
  3. rm -R /Library/Preferences
  4. rm -R /Users/YOURUSERNAME/ <– replace YOURUSERNAME with whatever your user name is
  5. cd /var/db/dslocal/nodes/Default/users
  6. ls (to list the files)
  7. Delete the file that is named after your user account with a .plist extension. For example, for user name “stevesande” you’d type rm stevesande.plist
  8. rm /private/var/db/.AppleSetupDone
  9. reboot

For my purposes, I omitted step 3 and everthing worked fine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *